Life lessons: trying new things.

I originally planned on posting a recipe for “recipe wednesdays” but I decided to change this post to something more relevant to my life this week.

I learned a new life lesson this week about comfort zones.

Anyone who knows me knows I have really bad anxiety. I hate trying new things and I prefer to stay in my own comfort zone.

There are some things I dislike doing that I “have to do” in the moment. For example, parallel parking. It’s not hard, it’s not my favorite thing to do, but I can do it if I have to.

Yesterday, I drove at night (which I don’t like doing), I successfully parallel parked on a busy street, and I tried a new food item.

There is a cute little vegan cafe downtown the city over from me. My boyfriend and I went last week for (his) first time. He got a pulled pork sandwich , which was too spicy for me but he loved it. I got my regular sandwich which is a Cuban panini.

Last night I decided to try a sandwich that is super raved about in their online reviews, it’s called a “knuckle sandwich” and it’s their version of a club. It was soooo delicious and yet so simple. (grilled tofu, tempeh bacon, grilled onions, roasted bell peppers, and dijon mayo on sourdough bread). I was scared to try something new because I am super picky about textures of foods. (I am probably the only vegan that dislikes tofu. ) img_5736

This little cafe does vegan food right though! The tofu was grilled down perfectly, the bacon was crunchy, the onions and peppers were sweet and that Dijon mixed with the mayo was the perfect spicy sweet flavor.

I couldn’t believe I enjoyed it so much. After trying a bite of my boyfriend’s cuban panini I didn’t enjoy his more than mine. I ended up eating my entire sandwich (which I rarely do) and I didn’t want to do “halfsies” anymore.

The point of this post isn’t a sandwich though. It’s about stepping out of your comfort zone and trying new things.

For example, everyone has foods they hate. I hated brussel sprouts as a child because my mom boiled them in water… Today, I love brussel sprouts because I can cook them correctly and deliciously.
As a vegan, or non-vegan, it’s important to try new things and learn more about yourself. What do you like? Is there anything you don’t like? Are you willing to open your mind to trying new things?

My question today is: 
If you are a vegan, are you willing to try your most hated food (cooked in a different way)?

Leave a Reply

