First Impressions: ColourPop Cosmetics

Hello lovelies! I recently ordered Sugarpill, Makeup Geek, Jeffree Star and Colourpop Cosmetics in a huge haul period and have some first impressions. Today’s first impressions are for two eyeshadows and four lip products from ColourPop Cosmetics.

I received an eyeshadow and a “lippie stick” from ColourPop Cosmetics for Christmas 2015 from my cousin. She also enjoys makeup and sent me something I hadn’t tried yet. Which is ironic, because I sent her Makeup Geek makeup for Christmas. 😀 So from my first experiences of the LippieStick and eyeshadow, I enjoyed the eyeshadow… the LippieStick I don’t prefer berry colors so I wanted to order a more wearable shade. (Which I did now)

So more of a “second impression” for the eyeshadow and LippieStick, but “first impression” for the Liquid Lipsticks.

Eyeshadows:

Packaging: 

  • Very unique, and playful! Each product(s) have their own unique colour inside of the box, while the outside is white and another bright colour.
  • (Eyeshadow: white box, with teal flaps, inside colour is purple.)
  • I appreciate the sticker at the bottom of the packaging with the name of the color.
  • The logo “ColourPop” is in the same holographic silver colour. VERY cute.
  • The eyeshadow is a screw top, all white, with see through plastic to see the colour of the shadow.

Unique Factor:

  • The texture of the eyeshadows, and the price point of these products is unique.

Opacity:

  • Wattles needed to be built up more than FlowerShop. BOTH were extremely pigmented.

Texture: 

  • ·   Very unique texture, they are soft and “plush” like. This is a unique factor but overtime extended eyeshadow use will deform the shadow.
  • SOOOOOOOO smooth and effortlessly swatched.
  • With UD primer potion, the shadow Wattles was almost completely gone by the end of the night. (10a.m.-7p.m.) It stayed pink throughout the day, by the end of the day the shadow looked not even there. (Eyelids appeared bare)

Swatches:

DSC_0035MUG
With flash.

DSC_0037CP
Without flash.

IMG_1684MUG
Iphone photo: without flash.
Price:

  • Shopped during the 20% off sale, so rather than the normal $5, the products were $4!
  • .07 oz in eyeshadow.
  • Compared to a Sugarpill eyeshadow, you get about half the product, for half the price.

 

Lips

Packaging:

  • Very unique, and playful! Each product(s) have their own unique colour inside of the box, while the outside is white and another bright colour.
  • (Ultra Matte Lip has white box, pink flaps, yellow inside)
  • I appreciate the sticker at the bottom of the packaging with the name of the color.
  • The logo “ColourPop” is in the same holographic silver colour. VERY cute.
  • The ultra matte lip colour’s tubes are very sleek, and look VERY nice for the price.
  • The lippe stix packaging looks more cheap, I appreciate the colour at the bottom of the tube.

Wand/ Applicator:

  • I love the wand/applicators for these. They are SUPER easy to apply. I found that I didn’t mess up as much with these compared to the JS ones. BUT the JS wands apply the lipstick better on the lips.

Opacity:

  • All were very pigmented, the LippieStick were more sheer than the Ultra Matte Lips.

Texture: 

  • ·         The LippeStick was very “heavy” on the lips. Much like a normal lipstick, you feel it on your lips. It is creamy while on the lips, but heavy.
  • Ultra Matte Lip in Beeper, took longer to dry.
  • LippieStick wasn’t as matte as I hoped.
  • ·         The Ultra Matte Lips were almost weightless, but you can still feel them. They aren’t as comfortable as a Jeffree Star Liquid Lipstick.
  • The Ultra Matte Lips get very dry and cracky after only two hours of wearing them. They are drying and very harsh on your lips. The days I wore these, the next day I had to smother my lips with balm.
  • Have to apply a lot of pressure with makeup wipe in order to remove.

Swatches:

DSC_0031MUG
Without flash. (NOTE: Cami is mislabeled. It’s actually Lumiere)

IMG_1681MUG
With flash.

IMG_1683MUG
Iphone photo: without flash.
Price:

  • Shopped during the 20% off sale, so rather than the normal $5, the products were $4!
  • .11 oz in Ultra Matte Lips, .0352 oz in Lippie Stick

 

Overall Impressions

Pros:

  • 100% Cruelty Free, a good majority of products are vegan.
  • CUTE
  • Got on sale!
  • Didn’t enjoy the shade of the LippieStick I purchased, but there are many shade options!
  • The colours of the Ultra Mattes do fade, but stain the lips, and don’t fade awkwardly.
  • The colour Midi- is like “my lips but better” and GORGEOUS! The color Trap is great as well!
  • Very pigmented and smooth shadows.

Cons:

  • Only available online.
  • All the “red” or “pink”, and some “shimmer/metallic” shades contain Carmine, making them NOT vegan.
  • Didn’t enjoy the heaviness of the LippieStick, but would rebuy another.
  • Not a lot of “unique” eyeshadow colours, I felt a lot of them were basics or dupeable.

 

Overall Verdict:

  • I didn’t care for the LippeStick “Lumiere” colour, or the colour “Beeper”. LOVED Midi and Trap though!
  • While I find the Ultra Matte Lips VERY drying, the shades are very cheap and very cute, so I don’t mind reapplying throughout the day.
  • I enjoyed these shadows MORE than the Makeup Geek shadows and Sugarpill shadows! I was blown away by the pigmentation and smoothness of the shadows!
  • I enjoyed the JS lip products best, but these aren’t awful.
  • I would repurchase the eyeshadows and LippieStick but pass on the Ultra Matte lips.
  • Ratings:
  • Ulta Matte Lips: 2/5 stars, LippieStick: 3/5 stars. Eyeshadows: 4/5 stars.

 

You can buy ColourPop Cosmetics directly from https://colourpop.com, follow their Facebook or Instagram account for updates!